Pancakes

Makena has recently taken a particular liking to cooking. She can make French Toast on her own, is quite an accomplished egg scrambler, & enjoys helping with dinner or baking as often as she can. Lately she’s been asking me to teach her how to make things “from scratch”, and decided she wanted to start with pancakes. “I can do it,” she assured me, “on my own.” So off she went, getting each step from me (I don’t have a printed recipe for pancakes) then going to do it on her own. When she added the milk I left her to it with the instructions that she needed to get all the lumps out so she had a smooth batter. All good.

Or so I thought.

When I came back I discovered she had added almost 2 litres of milk to her batter – “because it didn’t feel right. So I just added more until it was better!”

Thankfully I was able to salvage her batter, but needless to say – we ate pancakes for 3 days!

It got me thinking though – how often do we try to fix things because they don’t “feel right”? Things that we have supposedly given to God & are trusting Him with, but as soon as something happens that doesn’t meet with our expectations, or the timing is ‘wrong’, we try and fix it.

Or am I the only one who does that?

Picture source.

One thought on “Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Getting our homeschool ON! | Look to the Hills

Leave a comment